Like a Bear in a Den

Easter Dress: Latest Sewing Project April 2, 2012

Filed under: Sewing — Jen Bearden @ 10:24 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

 

So I hope you already know I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the Makeit And Loveit blog.  Most everything I sew or repurpose has been an idea of Ashley’s (yep, we’re good friends by now….ok, I’m only dreaming here) or one that I’ve learned by trying one of hers.  So since you already know this, you won’t be surprised that Allie’s Easter dress project came from here, and that it was made from a dress of mine that I transformed.

Here’s the dress as it was when I had it.  And actually I never wore it this way….weird.  It was pretty cute, but just fit a little bit funny around the middle.   It was that band there–it just kept me from breathing.  Which I guess is a good thing, so hence the dress is now being reimagined….

Oh, and someday I might actually have a camera that takes good pictures in a room with good light, but until then, just ignore the quality and pretend these are great.  Ok, on with the story…

 

The tutorial was written from a skirt-to-dress idea, but obviously it was easy to take that same idea as dress-to-dress.  I’ve made her a couple of other dresses before, so I knew that I could figure it out.  I took a cute one I knew fit her and that was the length I wanted it to be.  Then I cut (well actually I just undid the seams that were already there) and got this:

I sewed up the side seam, using the same seam allowance that was there before, just inside the original dress.

The next step was to zig-zag around the top of the dress, since this seam was unfinished.  She suggested serging (but I don’t have a serger, so couldn’t do that!), or I could have also sewn down a 1/2 inch and hemmed it.  But I kind of like the “rough” look anyway, and it’s for baby girl, and she won’t care, so zig-zagging it is. :) (I just realized I didn’t take a separate picture of this, so notice it in the next step when I shirred it.

Remember when I made this scarf?

Again, a find from Make It and Love It, and made with elastic thread.  The next step on this dress was the same thing.

When I as little, my mom called this smocking, and apparently it was all the rage.  And from what I remember, it was really hard to do.  Only it’s not.  It’s just elastic thread in the bobbin with plain thread on the top, and the fabric cinches up and looks all bumpy.  Cute huh?

While I was sewing it–see lots of rows of straight stitches spaced out about 1/4 inch apart.

All those rows all finished.  Oh, and there’s that zig-zag stitch on the top that I mentioned before.

So dress + shirring = little strapless baby dress

Guess that doesn’t really work for a baby, though, so I added straps per the tutorial.

SO SO SO excited to get that little bitty in that dress and see how it looks!  I’m also considering adding some ribbon detail, but we’ll see how much time I have with all this crazy floor stuff happening around here.

Ok, one more view.  Here’s a side-by-side of the before and after:

            

Pretty cute, right?  Again–totally not my idea, just my sewing machine and my dress. :)

 

4 Responses to “Easter Dress: Latest Sewing Project”

  1. sue Says:

    VERY cute! Is it too late to place an order for an Easter outfit for Mimi? Great job!

  2. Jessica Says:

    You made it…I love it! So cute! I too am obsessed with shirring. It looks really complicated but it’s so easy! Great job, Jen!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers